Student Video Competition

Student Video Competition - Prize €500

A special feature of IEEE SmartGridComm 2017 is a Student Video Competition. Prospective research students are invited to submit entries for the SGC2017 Video Competition on any aspect of IEEE SmartGridComm as outlined at
A €500.00 award will be presented to the winner of the winning video


The winner will be announced during the conference banquet on Wednesday, 25 October 2017.

Following videos are in competition:

Video #1
     Author(s) name: UMAR HASHIMI
     University affiliation: INRIA, FR
     Video Title: Optimal Control of Storage under Time Varying Electricity Prices
     Video URL:

Video #2
     Author(s) name: Sara Cleemput, Mustafa A. Mustafa
     University affiliation: KU Leuven, BE
     Video Title: Secure and Privacy-friendly Local Electricity Trading
     Video URL:


Video #3
     Author(s) name: Shayeste Farhadi, Leila Sharifi
     University affiliation: Urmia University, Iran
     Video Title: Smart Grid and Green ICT are not Mutually Exclusive
     Video URL:

Instructions (how to vote)

Youtube links of the preselected videos are provided above. If you like a video, you can vote for it by clicking LIKE on the Youtube page. The videos that receives the most 'likes' are those that will be considered as finalists.

Important. Only one best video will be selected as winning video. Thus, LIKE only the video that you like the most. Even if you like more than one video, and you have the right to vote for all of them, we strongly recommend you to vote only for the video you like most!


Selection Process

1.    Approval of video. Videos will be screened by a jury for compliance with the scope of the competition as outlined above.
2.    Approved videos. The approved videos will be posted on the IEEE SmartGridComm website, where visitors will be able to vote.
3.    The best voted video will be selected and it will be announced on the IEEE website on the date specified and will receive the €500 prize!

Note that only students are eligible to participate.

Important Dates

•    Video submission deadline: 22 September, 2017, 11:59 pm CEST
•    Online voting period: 01 - 16 October, 2017, 11:59 pm CEST
•    Announcement of the Winner: 25 October 2017, at the conference banquet

>> Download the (pdf) Call for Student Video Submissions

Video Competition Committee

Chair: Anil Mengi, devolo AG, Aachen, DE
Co-chair: Stanislav Mudriievskyi, Technische Universität Dresden, DE

Ievgenii Tsokalo,  Technische Universität Dresden, DE
Shalinee Kishore, Lehigh University, Bethlehem, USA
Weilin Liu, SGRI, CN
Rainer Speh, Siemens AG, Riad, KSR


The deadline for SGC2017 Student Video submissions is 22 September 2017 at 11:59 PM CEST. Please email your submission summary as a pdf file with the YouTube video link to Anil Mengi ( and/or Stanislav Mudriievskyi (

Link to Previous Student Video Competitions
You can see the Video Contests Nominations of previous years at the following links: